Caperglass's Weblog

My glass Cape Breton and Me

Fresh Out of Kiln This Morning

new-today-011new-today-010new-today-0151new-today-017new-today-0131

Not great pictures but I was pretty excited when I opened the kiln this morning

Will get some better pictures later but for now this will have to do. Some interesting results as I am trying to find the right temperatures for ramp up and especially annealing. I think I probably show have held longer at the  top as I can still see some shapes of the glass pieces. I will keep experimenting.

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Fresh Out of Kiln This Morning

  1. Branch Manager on said:

    Nifty! Like the color floating inside the pieces. Face very interesting!

  2. Marg- very nice! And how do you get the face image? The relief?

  3. Thanks Vince
    the face is done in a ceramic fibre mold. Heated to 1450 degrees and help at that temp for awhile. Then lowered to 960 and held for what seems like forever. But I am pleased with the first attempt.

  4. I really like these pieces Marg – bet they will be a hit with the ship folks! looks like you are having some fun too!

  5. Hi Jean
    I’m hoping the ship folks will like them. They are also heading to Mahone Bay and Cheticamp.
    And yes fun is the name of the game

  6. RaiulBaztepo on said:

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

  7. Hello !!!! 🙂
    I am Piter Kokoniz. Just want to tell, that I’v found your blog very interesting
    And want to ask you: is this blog your hobby?
    Sorry for my bad english:)
    Thank you!
    Your Piter

Leave a Reply

