Caperglass's Weblog

My glass Cape Breton and Me

Fused Glass Pieces

Auction TrayToday I dropped off the tray for the auction at the Cape Breton Center for Craft and Design. Of course I didn’t get a picture of it sitting flat but if I do say so myself it is a pretty awesome piece. It is done with blues and greens with a pale amber iridized glass. I’ll ask them to send back a picture. I was fortunate that they also choose one of my pieces to incorporate into their poster.

Tidal pool tray2nd tray in Tidal Pool SeriesThese 2 pieces are done in what I refer to as my tidal pool series. There are 2 layers of glass fused together a mixture of greens,grape and blue frits and powders. They remind me of the pools left between the rocks when the tides go out and there are these interesting colours and “things” in the bottom of the pools left.

One of these will end up in the Center and the other in a shop in Missy

Missy

Cheticamp along with Missy.

Meet Missy. Missy is the real fun part and she will find herself in a folk art gallery of Bill and Linda Roach in Cheticamp. She’s bright, she colourful and full of fun and I turned her into a bowl. She should have a good life.lattice weavelattice work square bowl

This bowl is interesting done in yellow and blue which of course if we remember our basic colours  gives us the green where ever they cross. Looks neat. This piece is heading to Scotian Ocean in Mahone Bay, NS.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Fused Glass Pieces

  1. Wow! You’ve been busy and the pieces look great. Keep the momentum up………

  2. I really like your ‘tidal pool series’ work Marg! Missy is a fun piece!
    The tray you made for the auction is awesome!

  3. Thanks Jean, I will do more in the tidal pool series. I was very pleased with the piece for the auction and I believe they did well on it so that is good

  4. Wow, that’s cool! I especially like Missy the plate! 😉

Leave a Reply

